5 Shells By The Seashore

Mixed media 16×20 in. I had considered to divide this into 4 equal parts and then mount it with about 1/4 in. space between all parts with a dark background. However the outcry from my home grown support system convinced me to delay it for now.  This has a very nautical feel to which I find  very relaxing to look at. Technique wise I didn’t employee as many layers in this piece as I normally would, because it started working for me early on, and I couldn’t see the need. Subconsciously this comes from a long series of beach pictures/photos I took at Tybee Island.

5 thoughts on “5 Shells By The Seashore

  1. I like your style very much! Like Mamacormier, I get the beach theme too. The strong lines and angles give me a futuristic feeling.. Do you have an example, I mean a person out of art history?

    • Thank you very much…As to your question I will take a stab…My abstract style is influenced by a large group of artists such as C.Demuth, W.Thiebald, J.Stella, R.Indiana, M.Duchamp, R.Diebenkorn, Van Gogh to name a few. My line work has been influenced by Picasso, Moebius, B. Wrightson, A.Mucha. Your question really forced me to reflect on my work and I made a list that had 25 artist from 1880’s to 1980’s as my main influences. I am a baby boomer so the late 60’s thru the 70’s was my formative years, but luckily I had a great teacher (Joe Hutchinson) that showed me examples of other artist prior to that period that helped form my style. I would say it is eclectic as I can lean towards a more illustrative/realistic style on occasions. The pieces I did (5 shells & chaos in bay) lean towards a abstract futurist/expressionism/Duchamp & J.Stella …otherwise my style is a morph. Hope that helps Kylian 🙂

      • Allright, what a list! haha, thank you very much! I definitely keep my eye on your great work! I took a great look at your blog and I saw your painting ‘Lunar Shallows’, what kind of material did you use? Or is that your secret ;)? haha no I’m kidding.. Sometimes I combine acryl paint with some charcoal and crayon..

      • I think the background has a fair amount of influence on the effect, a lot of the fall series is a heavy weight colored paper…yellow, blue, brown, green, black. I cover most of the surfaces so the color only has a tonal effect. The medias have been varied on different pieces never all the same, and then layer upon layer to get to that point.

  2. I totally get the beach theme. Reminds of the beach at my cottage. Thanks for following my blog. I’ll probably post some of my own art later in the summer.

thanks for feedback/comments

